Back to map

Wine Regions

Vinho Verde
01: Monção
02: Lima
03: Cávado
04: Ave
05: Basto
06: Sousa
07: Amarante
08: Paiva
09: Baião
Description of Vinho Verde's Region
It is one of the most original and distinctive regions of Portugal, marked by an extreme Atlantic influence, in a green and humid landscape, with cool temperatures and abundant rainfall.

It is the largest denomination in Portugal, with an area of around 24,000 hectares, occupying an immense area throughout the north-west of continental Portugal, with ownership spread over thousands of small plots, sometimes little larger than small backyards.

It is located in the extreme north of continental Portugal, bounded to the north by the Minho river, stretching along the Atlantic coast as far as the city of Porto and to the south as far as the banks of the Vouga river.

The vineyards are concentrated along the valleys of the main rivers. The soils are homogeneous and mostly granite, fertile to very fertile, with high acidity.

The denomination is divided into nine distinct sub-regions, Monção e Melgaço, Lima, Basto, Cávado, Ave, Amarante, Baião, Sousa and Paiva. Monção e Melgaço are the most singular of the sub-regions, the only one protected from the direct Atlantic influence, with a maritime and continental climate, producing fuller-bodied wines with higher alcohol content.

Vinho Verde

Some say that the designation "Verde"(green) is due to the acidity and freshness characteristic of Vinho Verde and that it reminds one of unripe fruit. Others say that the origin "Verde"(green) is explained by the fact that the wine is produced in a region very rich in vegetation and is therefore very green even in winter.

First Export

From the 17th Century onwards, exports of "Vinho Verde" to England have become regular. The first wines exported were probably from the Monção area and the transaction was made through the port of Viana de Castelo.

Vine cultivation

In the 12th Century there was a great incentive to the growing of vines. In the charter granted by D. Afonso Henriques to the men of Bouças (1172), it was declared that the plantation of vines was exempt of any tax for five years and after that period the tax corresponded to the sixth part of the wine harvested.

Discover other Regions:
Porto and Douro
Távora and Varosa
Dão and Lafões
Press ENTER to search or ESC to close

Wines of Portugal uses cookies to enhance your online experience. By using this website you agree to our cookies policy.